Eeeuuurrgggh!

20130612_124716This sickly turquoise – HOTSKI TO TCHOTCHSKE (by CCO but also available from Shellac and Bluesky) – has to be the worst colour I have ever tried on my nails!

I loved it on the shade card and the bottle but the actuality looks tacky and cheap, like something from a child’s paintbox.   It appears to be a vibrant mint green but the finished shade is poised somewhere between a nasty ice lolly and hospital walls.  I would wear shoes this colour, and undies, but it’s awful on fingertips!

The first coat was transparent so I hoped the colour depth would appear with the second – nope.  I tried a third on one nail, to no avail.  With one hand virtually done, what could I do but progress to the other.

The trouble with gel is that you can’t really change your mind halfway through other than by taking the whole lot off with an acetone soak or changing to a different colour and hoping: 1) it will cover and 2) you won’t have nails as thick as talons.

I’ll bet that, because I think it’s horrible, it will be really hard wearing!  What I’ll probably do is hide it with a layer of  ordinary polish on top.

Leave a Reply

